The Department of Agricultural Economics is one of the departments of the Faculty of Agriculture. It was founded in 1983 and in 1986 the Department implemented its undergraduate programme, in 1993 the master programme, and in 1995 the doctoral programme.

In the foundation year, the Department had only one associate professor, whereas nowadays it consists of no less than 17 academicians. The Department of Agricultural Economics has two divisions named “Agribusiness Management” and “Agricultural Policy and Extension”, and, since its foundation, the Department provided training to 221 undergraduate, 163 master and 31 doctorate students.